Head down

I’m not a Jay Leno fan.

I don’t get his humor. His jokes lack a certain thoughtfulness and wit that my soul craves. His smirky, faux deadpan delivery is a off-putting to me, and for the sake of time, let’s not even begin to talk about the O’Brien debacle. However, he does loves classic cars, so he can’t be an evil person. I guess he’s just not my cup of tea, or any other food or beverage of choice.

BUT!

When news “broke” (and by broke, I mean, when NBC confirmed what the internet had already told us last week), that young Jim Fallon would replace the Chin in the spring of 2014, The New York Times snagged a quote from Leno that I could do nothing but madly respect. On what he will be doing after he leaves The Tonight Show, Leno stated that he’d get back to doing comedy on the road..

It is a life Mr. Leno has never really left, one he shares with his wife, Mavis, who frequently travels with him. “I know what my priorities are,” he said. “I have the same friends from high school. I have had the same wife for 33 years. When times are good, you have fun. When times are bad, you put your head down and work.

Did you catch that last line that I put in bold so that you would catch it?

When times are good, you have fun. When times are bad, you put your head down and work.

The first half of that statement is easy to master. Its the second half that is the difference between living two completely different lives.

When times are bad, you put your head down and you work.

For many of us, its time to shut up and get to it.

Leave a Reply

