The modern day psalm of lament

This is such BS! All the
training and sacrifice just flew out the window with one step that I’ve done
millions of times!

The frustration is
unbearable. The anger is rage. Why the hell did this happen ?!? Makes no damn
sense. Now I’m supposed to come back from this and be the same player Or better
at 35?!? How in the world am I supposed to do that?? 
I have NO CLUE.

Do I have the consistent
will to overcome this thing? Maybe I should break out the rocking chair and
reminisce on the career that was. Maybe this is how my book ends. Maybe Father
Time has defeated me…

Then again maybe not! It’s
3:30am, my foot feels like dead weight, my head is spinning from the pain meds
and I’m wide awake.

Forgive my Venting but
what’s the purpose of social media if I won’t bring it to you Real No Image??
Feels good to vent, let it out. To feel as if THIS is the WORST thing EVER!

Because After ALL the
venting, a real perspective sets in. There are far greater issues/challenges in
the world then a torn achilles. Stop feeling sorry for yourself, find the
silver lining and get to work with the same belief, same drive and same
conviction as ever. 
One day, the beginning of a new career journey will
commence.

Today is NOT that day. 


“If you see me in a
fight with a bear, prey for the bear”. Ive always loved that quote. Thats
“mamba mentality” we don’t quit, we don’t cower, we don’t run. We
endure and conquer.


I know it’s a long post
but I’m Facebook Venting LOL. Maybe now I can actually get some sleep and be
excited for surgery tomorrow.

First step of a new
challenge. 
Guess I will be Coach Vino the rest of this season. I have faith in
my teammates. They will come thru.


Thank you for all your
prayers and support. Much Love Always.


Mamba Out

Section1
{page:WordSection1;}
–>
Kobe Bryant, April 13, 2013 (Paragraph edits my own)

On Friday, April 12, Kobe Bryant sustained a severe injury during a game that will keep him from competing the rest of this season. some sports pundits question if he will ever play again, or if he does, whether he will only be a shadow of his former self.

Kobe wrote the above post on his Facebook feed. It took me by surprise. What shocked me was that this larger than life personality, celebrity, millionaire, future hall-of-famer and leader on his team was so bold in his anger, frustration, and his expression of this moment in his life. We don’t see that much anymore.

The people we put in front of us, whether on stage, screen, pulpit, or court don’t offer themselves in such a vulnerable way. They are polished almost beyond the recognition of true humanity. They have scripted words and witticisms they are to regurgitate. They are to be the image of what we often want to be, not a reflection of who we are.

But in this particular moment, Kobe Bryant Laments in a way that I can only compare to the biblical psalms of lament. It is heart wrenching, and it is beautiful. Kobe teaches us all here that the lament is not weakness, but it is a powerful, God ordained instrument in punching into at the darkness, until daylight bleeds through.

May we all learn to lament well.

Leave a Reply

