Late Night Confession: Late Night Edition

www-St-Takla-org__Saint-Mary_Theotokos-Mother-of-God-002

I just wrote this in a forum post… I need to get it off my chest.

“When I planted a church waaaaaaay back in 2009, It was my intention to make it a place where both men and women could experiment and exercise their spiritual gifts, any of them. It didn’t take long for both sexes to fall into their “traditional roles”. I didn’t know what to do. I didn’t know whether the women of our new community were just not particularly called to a more vocal leadership role… or whether they didn’t know how to “do it” and thus, they didn’t… or if I did a poor job in offering any kind of mentorship to those with interest/talent in it.

Or maybe, I wanted something that felt like validated my community as progressive and relevant, when it wasn’t  actually necessary at the time. 

It’s a mystery I’ve still never been able to really figure out. I feel like I failed as a leader in that aspect of my ministry.” – Me

So, there’s that. I’m pretty sure I could do better given another opportunity at it.

Leave a Reply

